The Librarian of Auschwitz by Antonio Iturbe, Lilit Zekulin Thwaites (Translator)


For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is the story of the smallest library in the world – and the most dangerous.
‘It wasn’t an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns…’
Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezín ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious books the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the ‘living books’ – prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be ‘borrowed’ to educate the children in the camp.
But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the children’s block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor…

Jan’s Review

This was a very interesting read i not read a lot of book in this time era in fact i think Diary of Anne Frank might be the only other one. So i am no way an expert on what to expect other then gory details. This one does not shy away from the events that take place their plenty of accountability about that in the pages of this book. I was drawn in by the blurb of course it a billed as the story of the smallest library. The book at times was very emotional and brought me to tears but it a story that i am glad i read i like expanding my reading beyond just stories about princess, wizards and fairies. Sometimes we need a difficult subject matter to really bring some reality to our reading. It expands our knowledge of events that have happen in our history but it also gives you a thankfulness for what we have and hold dear. Thou this is partially fictional it also is based in pure fact from the words of Dita herself and the author even tells us of his travels to Auschwitz to see where the tragic events occurred. The author does his research and portrays a great historical fictional novel and i love Dita for her pure heart and strength to defy to keep reading alive. \

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s