Strings book tour Guest post/giveaway/review

“A wonderful retelling of the Pinocchio story…I simply couldn’t put this book down.” 
Rysa Walker, bestselling author of TIMEBOUND

Strings
Written by David Estes
Add Strings to Goodreads
Purchase Strings
eBook
Paperback
Audiobook

Sometimes the strings that tie us down are the same strings that set us free.

Sixteen-year-old Pia has always lived in a mysterious facility where mechanical strings control her existence. She plays apprentice to her father, Gio, in performing nanotech designs for the Company, and she soon suspects there are diabolical human forces behind the manufactured reality of her world.

Though her childhood memories and the origins of the strings remain strangely elusive, she begins to find solace with the introduction of two unlikely friends: daring, irrational Sofia, and calm, tender Marco.

As the truths of the past and present unravel together, Pia must find a way to free herself from her strings and escape the facility before facing the wrath of the unstable head of security, Mr. Davis. But to gain her freedom, she must navigate the dangers posed by Davis and by her suspicious new friends to find the real identity of the puppeteer.

If Pia can succeed in revealing the secrets of the Company, she may very well find the independence she so desperately seeks. But in her controlled world nothing is as it seems, and the closer she gets to the truth, the graver the consequences.

Giveaway

 

About the author

David Estes is the author of more than 20 science fiction and fantasy novels that have received hundreds of thousands of downloads worldwide, including The Moon Dwellers, Fire Country, Slip, Brew, and his new SciFi Pinocchio retelling, Strings. He lives in Hawaii with his inspiring Aussie wife, Adele, rambunctious son, Beau, and naughty cat, Bailey. When he’s not writing, you’ll likely find him at the beach swimming, snorkeling, or reading under an umbrella.

Find David via Twitter  Facebook  Goodreads  Website  Official Fan Group  Instagram  Tumblr

Review

This is my first David Estes book and i really enjoyed his take on the retelling of Pinocchio.  The whole concept of strings being a way to save someone and that the characters of this famous story are really part of this whole company and are being controlled by 3 owners and how each of the different characters worked together to create this elaborate  story that your just drawn in to and are lost in for  a few hours.  The author really knows how to draw you in and see things from a different angle then you always known.  Very well done.

 

Guest Post for Jan Farnworth

 

I Heart Fairytale Retellings

By David Estes

 

In the last few years, fairytale retellings have exploded onto the young adult scene. Love ’em or hate ’em, they’re hitting the bestseller lists in a BIG way. Personally, I ❤ them! Here’s why I think they’re so popular right:

 

Humans are nostalgic by nature. We love keeping things from the past. Old photos, videos, keepsakes, mementos. For the most part they gather dust in an old box in the attic or basement. But every once in a while we open those boxes and take a peek inside. All that old stuff makes our eyes light up and jogs memories of “the good old days.” Personally, I think fairytale retellings are like opening up those cherished boxes.

 

For example, I watched a ton of fairytales as a kid, from Cinderella to Beauty and the Beast to Pinocchio. Now, as I’ve gotten older, I have fond memories of those stories, just waiting to be remembered. An awesome and creative fairytale retelling, like Cinder by Marissa Meyer, for example, can unlock those memories, making me feel warm and fuzzy inside. I loved reading the book and seeing the incredible creativity of the author as she built HER OWN CREATIVE story, while still remaining true to some of the key themes of the original story. Every time I saw a subtle connection with the story I knew and loved as a kid, I felt something good. It made me want to keep reading and discover how the author’s characters’ endings compared to the original.

 

Nostalgia. It’s a powerful emotion, one that will keep this fairytale retelling trend going for a long time. For me, I found the emotion so strong that I wanted to pass it along to others, and I chose Pinocchio for my own retelling. Pinocchio was an easy choice for me, because one of the things I love most about YA novels is how complex they are. Teenagers are complex people, maybe more complex than adults in a lot of ways. I thought turning Pinocchio into a sixteen-year-old girl could be exceptionally interesting, particularly because the puppet we all know and love is a very complex character who struggles with truth-telling, temptation, and the notion of whether he’s real or not. My character, Pia, struggles with the same things, albeit in a futuristic SciFi environment where mechanical strings control her entire existence. I challenge my readers to watch for the connections to Pinocchio. Can you figure out who’s Jiminy Cricket? What about the Blue Fairy? Do any of the scenes remind you of Pleasure Island or the Belly of the Whale?

 

A HUGE thanks to Jan for having me on her AWESOME blog! I hope you all enjoy reading STRINGS as much as I enjoyed writing it

Leave a Reply

