Ten questions with Sherry D. Ficklin

Ten
questions with Sherry D. Ficklin, Author of
Playing
With Fire
  1. What
    made you decide to write this particular book?
Growing
up a military brat myself I was constantly surrounded by people and
situations that I thought were ‘normal’. When I married and had a
family of my own I realized that military brats are a completely
different and unique subculture of people. They think differently,
react differently, and on a whole have a vastly different childhood
experience than civilian kids do. When you add an element of mystery
to that, it feels very different. And I love different. Then, to play
with the idea of white hat hacking on top of that, it was new
territory for me.
  1. What
    is PWF about?
Playing
with Fire is, at its core, a throwback to the classic Nancy Drew type
of teen mystery novels, but from a very modern point of view. Farris
is a modern girl with normal problems, but she is also very driven
and very aware of the dangers of this online sub-element of people.
It’s a generational shift between her and her peers and the
‘adults’ in charge. When things start going haywire, the adults
are very conventional in how they deal with it, she is much more
willing to explore other options.
  1. Are
    there any more in the #HACKER series?
Yes.
The #HACKER is a six part series. I’m finishing up book 3 this
month, then there will be a short gap and I will be on to the next
one.
  1. What
    was it like being a Military Brat for real?
It
was hard sometimes, but it was an adventure sometimes too. My dad was
a Marine, so we moved a lot, which at sixteen is pretty much the end
of the world, but as an adult that ‘bug’ hits me sometimes and I
want nothing more than to pick up and go somewhere new. My dad
developed MS during his time in service and was medically retired. He
passed away a few years ago. These books, all of them, are in his
memory.
Then
of course, I married a Marine also. We have four beautiful, brat
children of our own now.
  1. What
    do you hope readers take away from your book?
I
think with any fiction book it’s really all about the escape. I
hope readers have a fun adventure while at the same time connecting
with the characters and with their struggles. And maybe they walk
away with a new respect for what these kids go through.
  1. What
    was the best/worst part of writing this series?
The
best thing has been being able to dig into an arena that I was
seriously naive to. The whole hacker subculture is amazing and rich,
and I’m not going to lie, a bit terrifying.
The
worst part was some of the parts of the story that were ripped from
my own experiences. Some of them were really hard to put on paper,
but when it was finished, it was like a weight had been lifted from
my shoulders. Especially in book 2. I think I cried for a week after
I finished it.
  1. What
    is your favorite quote from the book?
It’s
when Farris introduces herself to Oliver for the first time. “I’m
Farris. She who takes no shit.”
  1. What
    are three things people may not know about you?
Well,
I collect rubber ducks. It’s true. The weirder the better. My
current favorite is my Zombie duck. I once groped John Barrowman and
it is still a high point in my life. And I am the reigning queen of
mature content at my publisher. I swear they let me get away with
murder (literally).
  1. Anything
    else you’d like to add?
Yes,
I’d like to give a big thank you to all the wonderful, hardworking
people at MCAS Cherry Point and NAS Whidbey Island for tolerating me
and my ‘research’, and a special thanks to the local hacker group
that always answers my dumb questions. You’re all amazing.
And here is your
chance to be a HACKER by decoding the first part of the #HACKER
secret code:
01110000
01100001 01110100 01101001 01100101 01101110 01100011 01100101
00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01110110
01101001 01110010 01110100 01110101 01100101
Translate all three
codes and leave your answer on Sherry’s facebook page to enter to
win an advance copy of #HACKER book 2, IN TOO DEEP. 
In Too Deep

One talented hacker.
One dead body.
One explosive secret.
When
one reckless night leads Farris Barnett to the dead body of a
classmate, she’s as willing as everyone else to write it off as a
suicide. That is, until cryptic messages start coming in from someone
who knows the truth, and they want Ferris on the case. Putting her
hacker skills to work, she begins to unravel the life of a victim who
might just have been the guiltiest of them all.
Her personal life in
turmoil, Farris turns to the only person she can trust to help her get
to the bottom of things—a friend on the verge of becoming much more.
Together, they confront a killer with a secret not even she could have
decoded.
The biggest bombs, the ones that do the most damage, are the ones you never see coming.

Pre-Order Your Copy Today!!!

Playing With Fire

One brilliant young hacker.

One experimental government aircraft. 
One chance to keep it all from going up in flames. 



Still
recovering from her troubled past, Farris is no stranger to change. But
when the military transfers her father across the country to an
experimental aircraft squadron, settling in to a new life is the least
of her problems. As a series of apparent computer glitches threaten the
security of the fleet and the blame falls on her father, she decides to
put her computer skills to use digging up the truth. Soon she’s drawn
into the perilous world of a hacker who is determined to ground the
fleet–at any cost.



When all signs lead to someone close to her
as the mastermind, Farris will have to burn more than bridges to get to
the truth. She will have to risk her fragile new life to uncover the
identity of the cyber criminal before they can escalate from harmless
tampering… to all out murder.



Order Your Copy Today!!!

 

                                                   Win A CTP Mystery Box!!!



 

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js
                                                              

About The Author

 

 
 
Sherry D. Ficklin is a full
time writer from Colorado where she lives with her husband, four kids,
two dogs, and a fluctuating number of chickens and house guests. A
former military brat, she loves to travel and meet new people. She can
often be found browsing her local bookstore with a large white hot
chocolate in one hand and a towering stack of books in the other. That
is, unless she’s on deadline at which time she, like the Loch Ness
monster, is only seen in blurry photographs.

Connect With Sherry Here

 

Facebook-Icon twitter-icon instagram
Leave a Reply

