Book Review The Darkling Child by Terry Brooks

18710920

From New York Times bestselling author Terry Brooks—the second stand-alone Shannara novel in the Defenders of Shannara series, following The High Druid’s Blade, easily accessible to new readers.

Paxon Leah has joined the Druid Order as a paladin, tasked with protecting the Druids with the aid of his magical sword. But Paxon’s toughest assignment will come when he must track down a young musician with newly-manifested magic before a rival sorcerer can corrupt the boy.

Jan Review

I really have enjoyed reading the whole Shannara series as it has evolved over the years.  At times i like how can their me more to this story, others i was throughly invested in the characters lives.  I glad to say that i am ready for the Shannara series to be put to bed one more book and then what next on the horizon for Terry will i love it as much as this series that i spent years of my life reading through and looking forward to what is next?  I really hope i will.  These characters will be missed but all good things must have an ending.

This book can be read as a stand alone but i do feel your more invested if you know some of the characters from the previous books.  It follows like all the others novels a quest, some adventure, a bit of a love triangle and some really gruesome deaths.  Like all of the Shannara novels it lives up to its hype and does not disappoint.  But like i said i ready to move on to a new world with this author and to see what else he has in store for us.

One thought on “Book Review The Darkling Child by Terry Brooks

  1. I’m dying to see the Shannara series on MTV, of all places. Terry was at GenCon in Indianapolis this weekend. My daughter will likely catch me up on any news when she gets home in an hour or so.

    I bought Terry’s first Shannara book when it was just coming out. I bought each as they came out until I got busy with three daughters and didn ‘t have as much time to read. Daughter #2 discovered them when she was looking for something to read and looked on my shelves in my bedroom. She ‘s as big a fan as I am.

Leave a Reply

