Bloodwitch (The Witchlands #3) by Susan Dennard

High in a snowy mountain range, a monastery that holds more than just faith clings to the side of a cliff. Below, thwarted by a lake, a bloodthirsty horde of raiders await the coming of winter and the frozen path to destroy the sanctuary and its secrets.

The Bloodwitch Aeduan has teamed up with the Threadwitch Iseult and the magical girl Owl to stop the destruction. But to do so, he must confront his own father and his past.

Jan’s Review

This out of all 4 books the 3 mains ones and the novella Sightwitch, this one right here, with Iseult, Aeduan, Owl and a bat named Blueberry, is the one that stabbed me right in the heart, left me tear streaked and dying to know what comes next. We all are speckling on what the next book title will be and rumors abound that it will be about Iseult.

This book does what every good book should do leaves each chapter with you gasping for breath and flipping pages wanting more and more never wanting to put the book down till the wee hours of the morning. You lay it down and you grasp what-what I need more and you cry and grieve that you have to wait.

Sometimes I can find it hard to follow a story that has multiple POV to keep track of but not with this story. Especially since each book has one that takes the lead so your not left stumbling around trying to figure out where the story is going. This one the bloodwitch takes the lead as we find out how much his power takes from even from the moments of his birth. He has a power unlike any other that makes those around him treat him as though he is a demon.

What really made this one the winner was how through all of this pain and loss our bloodwitch endures. Right at the very end of the book, you see him really grasp the theme that he no longer alone he is now we. The addition of owl and her bat Blueberry really strengthened the outlook of hope for Aeduan. He is determined that he will no longer be a pawn for his father who finally knows is the Raider King.

You may feel that not a lot happens to move the plot along in this third book but the reveals about the backstory of the characters are all the hints you need to really see where this story is hopefully going. Excited to read the next book in this amazing well thought out story.

Blog Tour If I were Human by W.B. Tyler

ABOUT THE BOOK

Written by W.B. Tyler

Publisher’s Synopsis: Brina, a Scottish Terrier, has lots of fun thinking about what she would do if she were a person! But when she shares those ideas with her friends, she begins to realize just how special it is to be a dog. The simplicity of If I Were Human makes it ideal for early readers, but with its imaginative story and entertaining illustrations, adults and children alike will love it. And who knows―you just may discover that you’d rather be a dog!

Ages 5-6 | Publisher: wbtylercom, llc | July 1, 2019 | ISBN-13: 978-1543972351

PURCHASE LINKS
OFFICIAL LINKS

Jan’s Review

This is a cute children’s picture book that features a dog name Brina who wonders what it would be like to be human. Later on, Brina snoozes on the couch and dreams of wonderful humanly things to do. Each page features a fun colorful drawing of a dog doing everyday human things; like riding a train into the city, going to school and asking questions, and even making office phone calls at a job. Other characters are introduced such as a squirrel, and the nosy neighbor dog. If you want to know what a dog may think about being human, you need to pick up this cute book. The drawings are eye catching and each character gets a couple pages to tell their dreams about being human. Some days I wish I could be a dog or a cat … it would be nice to just lay around for a day or two! Don’t ya think?

GIVEAWAY

Enter for a chance to win a signed copy of If I Were Human, by W.B. Tyler, and a set of 2 adorable plush toy dogs!

One (1) winner receives:

  • An autographed copy of If I Were Human

  • An 8″ plush toy Scottie dog
  • An 8″ plush toy Westie dog

Nine (9) winners will receive:

  • An autographed copy of If I Were Human

Giveaway begins June 24, 2019, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends July 24, 2019, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Open to the legal residents of Canada, Great Britain, Australia, and the 50 United States and the District of Columbia, who are thirteen years of age or older in their state or territory of residence at time of entry. Void where prohibited by law.

W.B. Tyler is responsible for prize fulfillment.
Click this link to enter the giveaway below

Soul of the Sword (Shadow of the Fox #2) by Julie Kagawa

One thousand years ago, a wish was made to the Harbinger of Change and a sword of rage and lightning was forged. Kamigoroshi. The Godslayer. It had one task: to seal away the powerful demon Hakaimono.

Now he has broken free.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has one task: to take her piece of the ancient and powerful scroll to the Steel Feather temple in order to prevent the summoning of the Harbinger of Change, the great Kami Dragon who will grant one wish to whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers. But she has a new enemy now. The demon Hakaimono, who for centuries was trapped in a cursed sword, has escaped and possessed the boy she thought would protect her, Kage Tatsumi of the Shadow Clan.

Hakaimono has done the unthinkable and joined forces with the Master of Demons in order to break the curse of the sword and set himself free. To overthrow the empire and cover the land in darkness, they need one thing: the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers. As the paths of Yumeko and the possessed Tatsumi to cross once again, the entire empire will be thrown into chaos.

Jan’s Review

This is the second book in the Shadow of The Fox series penned by the amazing author Julie Kagawa. The world building for this series is phenomenal we are introduced to various creatures from Japanese mythology each one more intense and scarier than the last. The story centers around the legend of the dragon scroll that was separated into 3 pieces and is be protected at various temples. Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko is protecting one piece and in this book, she is on her way to ancient steel feather temple and she is determined to save Kate Tasumi who been possessed by an evil spirit who been released from a sword.

I thoroughly enjoyed that in this one there is a lot more action and riddles that have to be hashed out along the way. Also my favorite character Yumeko really comes into her fox magic. It becomes so much more then what she thought it was and the description of how awesome it is breathtaking. Their a few heart-wrenching deaths in this book which is to be expected with the task that has been laid at the group’s feet.

This second book does not suffer from being boring at all is darker, scarier, and much more action-packed than the first. The characters really grow into their own and you really want to see them succeed. The stakes are higher than ever before which makes for a compelling ending that will propel us into the 3 books of the series. I thoroughly have enjoyed this series.

Kat Kronenberg’s Love Big giveaway tour

ABOUT THE BOOK

Written by Kat
Kronenberg

Publisher’s Synopsis: The
once thriving, African savanna has turned dry and desolate. Baboon watches animals who are so hungry that they seek only their own interest. Rhinoceros destroys Termite’s castle in his race to find food. Hare chooses not to share food with her family, and Lion
steals from his pride. But after Baboon sees Rhinoceros give Hare his snack-on-a-stick, everything changes! Baboon realizes that a transformative power exists between the animals and the stardust that surrounds them once they share smiles and truly believe
in themselves and each other. Read on to see if Baboon can save the savanna with this new secret and a very stinky, unlike hero…

Ages 3-10 | Publisher: Greenleaf Book Group Press | January 8, 2019 | ISBN-13:
978-1626346000

PURCHASE LINKS

OFFICIAL LINKS
GIVEAWAY
Enter for a chance to win a copy of Kat Kronenberg’s Love
Big
, signed by Kat Kronenberg, and
a school visit from the author valued at $550!
Plus, everyone can
be a winner by visiting
Kat’s
website
and collecting all of the fun downloads.

One (1) winner receives:

  • A school visit from Kat Kronenberg*

  • A copy of
    Love Big
    , signed by Kat Kronenberg
  • Kat’s new Light-Up Heart of Stars plush toy
  • All of the downloadable activities and extras from Kat
    Kronenberg’s website

Five (5) winners receive:

  • A copy of
    Love Big
    , signed by Kat Kronenberg

  • Kat’s new Light-Up Heart of Stars plush toy

Giveaway begins June 20, 2019, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends July 20, 2019, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Giveaway open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 17 and
older.

Kat Kronenberg is responsible for prize fulfillment. *Date, time, and school for the visit is to
be worked out between the winner and author Kat Kronenberg. The school must be within 2 hours driving distance of any major airport and on the mainline. Parent’s at the school must be offered a chance to buy
Love
Big
so that their students have the opportunity to take home an autographed copy with their
name in it – thrilling. Kat Kronenberg must be able to set up at least one more school visit in the area.
Click
here for the giveaway rules.

Enter by clicking on the link below

Between Frost and Fury (The Xenith Trilogy #2) by Chani Lynn Feener

Delaney has been kidnapped by aliens. Again. After only a month back on Earth with her hotnew alien boyfriend Ruckus, the deadly and devastatingly handsome prince Trystan has dragged her right back to his planet. 

While some girls may dream of winning a prince’s heart, Delaney just wishes this one would leave her alone. Instead, she finds herself at the center of both a tense political battle between two alien kingdoms and Trystan’s romantic attentions, both of which are absolutely ruining the life she’s built on Earth. Not to mention the fact that she’s about to be crowned queen of a planet she’s barely even visited. Just another day in life of an ordinary human girl.

Jan’s Review

Delaney has returned to Earth with the Ander Ruckus by her side and is slowly working back into as normal as a life for a girl who has just recently returned Earth can live. That is until the Zane shows up with other plans in mind. I admit at first i was not sure where the series was going, the whole point of book one was for Delaney to pretend to be Oleana until her race could find her and safely return Delane back to Earth. That was supposed to be it, over done with no more crazy aliens. Of course she did take the Ander back to Earth with her so that made the connection still exist.

In this one Delaney is kidnapped by the Zane and is being told she been chosen to rule and force Oleana out. To get to continue along with this plane the Zane is holding the Ander hostage the whole time promising that if she follows along he will release her back to Earth. The one thing that irked me this whole time is that Delayney really believed the Zane for the majority of the book that he was going to allow her ot escape. I really don’t like the Zane he gives me the creeps, like every egoistical, rich boy brat i ever met. As for the Ander we not really got to know a lot about his backstory other then he can’t cook we really don’t get to see him much in this book.

I really hoping that Delaney will end up really empowering the Zane to destroy the Rex and get out of from under his thumb. I do understand where some of the Zane worse characters traits come from and it form being ruled by the Rex for so long. Being out from under the Rex thumb i think the Zane could really have some charm to him.

The political fall outs from some of the twists in this book really having me guessing how this all going to play out for Delaney, Is she going to rule all three realms as queen? Is she going to continue on ruling with the Zane at her side as he takes out his psycho farther? Or will she get to return to Earth and continue growing her realationship with the Ander. It all coming to an end in Within Ash and Stardust due out July 16, 2019.

Blog Tour Two Little Golfers Being Positive by Jennifer Holt

ABOUT THE BOOK

Written by Jenn
Holt

Illustrated by Harry
Aveira

Publisher’s Synopsis: Coach Jenn takes Alice and Izzy on the golf course to show them the value
of positive self talk,  a positive attitude, and to never give up, no matter how hard it gets. The story is told with some cute illustrations, and is great for all sports kids.

Ages 0-7 | Publisher: Outskirts Press | October 29, 2018 | ISBN-13: 978-1977201263

PURCHASE LINKS
OFFICIAL LINKS

Jan’s Review

Fun little picture book that really will help you share with your kiddos that even if you’re not the best you can still be positive about the game. The author did a great job of really introducing to the story with once upon a time. Which is key i think in getting children to really want to see where a story going to go. The theme of the story thinking positive while playing sports was interwoven with the basics of teaching golf. The illustrations seem to leap off the page as the characters went through their golf lesson we also get to meet some adorable woodland friends. This book is the perfect place to start if your child is frustrated with sports and will maybe inspire them to pick up a new one. Anyone for miniature golf?

GIVEAWAY

Enter for a chance to win a signed copy of Jenn Holt’s Two
Little Golfers Being Positive
and one dozen pink golf balls
and pink tees!

One (1) winner receives:

  • An autographed copy of Two
     Little Golfers Being Positive

  • A set of one dozen pink golf balls and pink tees

Two (2) winners will receive:

  • An autographed copy of Two
     Little Golfers Being Positive

Giveaway begins June 10, 2019, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends
July 10, 2019, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

Giveaway open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 17 and
older.

Jenn Holt is responsible for prize fulfillment.

Giveaway link

The Kingdom by Jess Rothenberg

Welcome to the Kingdom… where ‘Happily Ever After’ isn’t just a promise, but a rule. 

Glimmering like a jewel behind its gateway, The Kingdom is an immersive fantasy theme park where guests soar on virtual dragons, castles loom like giants, and bioengineered species–formerly extinct–roam free.

Ana is one of seven Fantasists, beautiful “princesses” engineered to make dreams come true. When she meets park employee Owen, Ana begins to experience emotions beyond her programming including, for the first time… love.

But the fairytale becomes a nightmare when Ana is accused of murdering Owen, igniting the trial of the century. Through courtroom testimony, interviews, and Ana’s memories of Owen, emerges a tale of love, lies, and cruelty–and what it truly means to be human. 

Jan’s Review

“I received this ARC as part of Miss Print’s ARC Adoption Program.”

This is an imaginative dystopian novel that is told in transcripts from a court case and the main story in the months before the trial. Kingdom is all about a fantasy world were seven hybrid humans have been designed to bring happily ever after to those who visit the park. The story follows one of the fantasist named Ana. She begins to become obsessed with a worker at the park and slowly uncovers that all is not what it appears to be. Telling the story in a court narrative surrounding the murder of a park employee really made the story stand out. The ending really makes it feel like their will more story to come but as of now it a stand alone. It really did not take long to read and once you get settled in you won’t want to put it down tell you finish.