Book Review The Last Namsara (Iskari #1) by Kristen Ciccarelli

32667458

In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be darkness—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death-bringer.

These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up learning in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.

Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her betrothal to the cruel commandant, a man who holds the truth about her nature in his palm. When she’s offered the chance to gain her freedom in exchange for the life of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard, she finds that there may be more truth to the ancient stories than she ever could have expected. With the help of a secret friend—a slave boy from her betrothed’s household—Asha must shed the layers of her Iskari bondage and open her heart to love, light, and a truth that has been kept from her.

Jan’s Review

In this story we have a character who been forced to believe that she is pretty much the person who has destroyed and cursed the world.   She been told that the old stories about dragons are what killed her mother and she was the one who brought it about by whispering it to lure dragons to her.  She uses the old dragons stories to kill dragons.  Now i am a lover so why would i want to read a story about a character who hunts them and kills them.  Good question.

That is how this story starts out but it turns out it so much more then that and you end up with love, heart ache, attachment to dragons and most of wonderful dragon stories. I love the little tidbits in between chapters that gave us those forbidden dragon stories.

I love torwin to pieces and felt so much anguish for him, shadow the dragon is by far the best dragon portrayed in the story and warning you probably gonna shed some tears for that one at some point in the story.  I really felt for Asha through out the whole story.  This was a wonderful debut novel and excited to read The Caged Queen later in 2018.

 

Advertisements

Book Review Renegades (Renegades #1) by Marissa Meyer

28421168

Secret Identities. Extraordinary Powers. She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies—humans with extraordinary abilities—who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone…except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice—and in Nova. But Nova’s allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.

Jan’s Review

I went into this book with a bit of a narrowed mind as i had some reviews on it that painted in an ugly light.  Instead i got a wild amazing story about superheros and villians that made me realize those reviews were very narrow minded and they really did not read the book.

We have get secret identities, superpowers galore and vengeance with a tiny tiny bit of possible romance brewing.  We have a crumbling society that is filled with people who are not superheros with powers but yearn to maybe be heroes like the old days.  You got those who are on the good side which are Renegades and those painted as being on the bad side the Anarchists.

Then you have characters like Nova who want to be on the good side but have been wronged by those who are suppose to be on the side of the law.  Her family was wiped out when she was very young and those who should of come to save her did not come in time.  So she been brewing an appetite for revenge her whole life.

This story is so much more then i expected it to be and i can not wait for book two.  It was a great lesson in not always believing what others say about books.

 

Blog Tour Spotlight on Hinder by

HINDER

HinderCoverConcept

Title: HINDER 

Author: Kristin Ping

Pub. Date: May 15, 2018

Publisher: Fire Quill Publishing

Pages: 443

Formats: Paperback, eBook

Find it: GoodreadsAmazonB&NiBooksKoboGoogle Play Books

Ethan Sutcliff seems like a normal seventeen-year-old—at least that’s what he’s trying to portray. In a secret society run by the Supernaturals, Ethan is what witches call a Bender. Benders are Witches’ Guardians, who are able to control a witches’ ability, bend it, or move it away from harming humans. In Ethan’s case, he is able to bend the Earth element. But at the age of fifteen, he lost all connection to it, and the reasons behind it could only mean one of two things: His Wielder is either dead, or hiding out somewhere.


Alex Burgendorf has been living in her aunt’s locket for the past sixteen years with her mother—a Fire Wielder, and her father—a Water Wielder. For sixteen years, her parents vowed to protect her, and they have, as she is the last Earth wielding witch. However, time is running out. Alex must find her Bender, or the fate of the Supernaturals might be at stake.

Kristin

About Kristin:

Kristin resides in South Africa with her husband, two beautiful girls and two bulldogs that tries to eat her house. She has been writing for the past eight years and her first debut novel, Hinder: A Bender’s novel will be published 2018 by Fire Quill Publishing. When she isn’t writing, she is spending her time with her family, or trying to teach her two bulldogs to not eat her house.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Crows of Winter Pre Order Prize

Want to win a Mac. Every two to three months, Kristin Ping is giving away a mac, all you have to do is subscribe to her newsletter, confirm to the confirmation email that will either be in your inbox or spam, and open the letter. Find the secret facebook group, join and enter the giveaway. It’s as easy as that. We even give you extra entries by inviting your friends to subscribe too. We already gave away the first laptop.

There are two ways to do this.

1. Follow by filling in this doc. https://goo.gl/forms/ENPbGUh8IiawMoVy1

2. Go to http://www.authorkristinping.com and wait for the pop up to subscribe.

Pre Order Giveaway:

PRE ORDER HINDER FOR 99c. Yes, you’ve heard right. The pre order special is 99c only. The price will go up to 2.99 in it’s first month, think of it as a release day blitz, and from the second month it will go up to it’s normal price of 4.99c. So it’s a major deal of getting the pre-order for just 99c. GRAB YOUR COPY NOW AND CLAIM YOUR GIFT: CROWS OF WINTER.

CROWS OF WINTER is a bundle of three stories. Two of them were exclusively written for Hinder Pre-Orde drive. They will not be up for purchasing.

Lucian’s Ascension written by Adrienne Woods, Venom, a Novelette also by Adrienne Woods and introduction short story of Guardian of Monsters written by Kristin Ping.

You will need to fill in this form in order to claim your free gift.

http://www.subscribepage.com/u4n4w1

 

Follow The Tour

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

1/1/2018- Book-o-Craze – Review

1/2/2018- Darque Dreamer Reads– Review

1/3/2018- Adventures Thru Wonderland– Review

1/4/2018- Jen Brown Writes– Review

1/5/2018- Book Huntress’ World– Review

 

Week Two:

1/8/2018- Books and Ladders– Review

1/9/2018- Fire and Ice– Review

1/10/2018- Jrsbookreviews– Review

1/11/2018- The Inked In Book Blog– Review

1/12/2018- A Gingerly Review– Review

 

Week Three:

1/15/2018- Hooked To Books– Excerpt

1/16/2018- Pervy Ladies Books Review

1/17/2018- books are love– Review

1/18/2018- Literary Musings– Excerpt

1/19/2018- Hauntedbybooks13– Review

 

Week Four:

1/22/2018- A Reader’s Life– Review

1/23/2018- Wishful Endings– Excerpt

1/24/2018- SimplyAllyTea– Review

1/25/2018- Dani Reviews Things– Review

1/26/2018- A Dream Within A Dream– Excerpt

 

Week Five:

1/29/2018- Blushing Bibliophile– Review

1/30/2018- BookHounds YA– Review

1/31/2018- Abooktropolis– Review

Audio Book Review The Book of Dust by Philip Pullman

34128219

Eleven-year-old Malcolm Polstead and his dæmon, Asta, live with his parents at the Trout Inn near Oxford. Across the River Thames (which Malcolm navigates often using his beloved canoe, a boat by the name of La Belle Sauvage) is the Godstow Priory where the nuns live. Malcolm learns they have a guest with them, a baby by the name of Lyra Belacqua . .

Jan’s Review

I listened to this an audio book from audible.  I love the golden compass and the movie that was created around the story.  I eagerly waited to get this book and it is read spectacularly by the narrator.   The story is split into two main sections. The first involves Malcolm being drawn into the world of the resistance, a shadowy cabal of spies and secrets. And the second half is a gruelling, breathless journey set during a biblical flood.

It was a delight to read as you ride along on the boat protecting lyra from several powerful figures. It’s up to Malcolm to keep her safe from the menacing figures that pursue her – and start the chain of events that leads to His Dark Materials.

You got a full glimpse of the Magisterium who is very intolerant of religious fervor to the point that start an army in elementary schools to inform on those that might be against what is to believed.  Seriously that a scary thought.

I loved how we got more of the demons and how inter connected they are within this world.  The main action happens towards the end of the book which is where the audio book came in nicely as the narrator read it with the intensity it deserved.

It does a great job of being a prologue to the previous series.  With a nod to the fae as the story closes.  I am excited to see what happens in The Secret Commonwealth to be published sometime in the future.

 

Book Review Water’s Wrath by Elise Kova

29483403

Librarian turned sorcerer. Sorcerer turned hero. Hero turned puppet.

The Solaris Empire found victory in the North and, at the cost of her heart and her innocence, Vhalla Yarl has earned her freedom. But the true fight is only beginning as the secret forces that have been lurking in the shadows, tugging at the strings of Vhalla’s fate, finally come to light. Nowhere is safe, and Vhalla must tread carefully or else she’ll fall into the waiting arms of her greatest foe. Or former lover.

Jan’s Review

Librarian turned sorcerer. Sorcerer turned hero. Hero turned puppet.  I went into this review ignoring or forgetting any warnings that may of been posted about the series.  So as a result I am still reeling from the emotions of this book, I honestly have no words, I feel like a fish out of the water opening and closing my mouth. All I want to do is is cry, like WHY did this happen!!!! 

The emotional turmoil from the death in this book had me so turned inside out i had to wait a few days just to finish up the last few chapters which included more heart ache.  So i be reading something else and then come back for the last book.   When i get invested in a book to the point of a 6 book series those characters really come to life.  Elise does an amazing job of this.

And Prince Aldrik, I won’t even try to make you believe that I could ever lose faith in him. I’ve been shouting from the sidelines I’ve always been on his side of the court even when he was acting like a fool. Gah! I just can’t! The emotional tension between him and vhalla radiates from the pages will they be together will the be torn apart.  It makes for one page turning roller coaster.

I am eager to read the last book but i do need to grieve a bit for those we lost in this battle.

 

Book Review The Death Cure by James Dashner

7864437

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over.

Jan’s Review

I started reading this series as the movies came out as I am one of those people that really likes to have all the info when i go into a movie.  Well that worked out ok for the first book mostly.  Then i read book two and watch movie two.  Well if you seen and read them you know that the movies are way off track from the books.  Which is not terrible in this case the movies are very exciting and i really rather enjoy them more then books.  The first book was nail biting exciting but the last two books just sort of fell flat.  I had to read the last one as i wanted to see how the author ended versus what going to happen with the last movie.

Congrats to James Dashner on such an epic series. You put your readers and your characters through absolute hell mister! But I’ve never had such a blast reading a series from beginning to end.

I be reading the prequel shortly as like i stated before i trying to complete series this year so that will wrap up the series.  Not sure if their are plans to do the prequel as a movie or not.

 

Book Review All Rights Reserved by Gregory Scott Katsoulis

33257478.jpg

In a world where every word and gesture is copyrighted, patented or trademarked, one girl elects to remain silent

Speth Jime is anxious to deliver her Last Day speech and celebrate her transition into adulthood. The moment she turns fifteen, Speth must pay for every word she speaks, for every nod, for every scream and even every gesture of affection. She’s been raised to know the consequences of falling into debt, and can’t begin to imagine the pain of having her eyes shocked for speaking words that she’s unable to afford.

But when Speth’s friend Beecher commits suicide rather than work off his family’s crippling debt, she can’t express her shock and dismay without breaking her Last Day contract and sending her family into Collection. Rather than read her speech—rather than say anything at all—she closes her mouth and vows never to speak again, sparking a movement that threatens to destroy her, her family and the entire city around them.

Jan’s Review

This is a unique dystopian young adult novel where every word and practically every gesture comes at price that is charged by a tracker you wear on your wrist.  Once you turn 15 you start being charged.  Until then you are free to say and gesture as you please.  When you turn 15 your expected to make a speech as a way of signing your Terms of Service agreement.

This novel is all about what happens when you choice to make the choice not go along with what is socially expected of you and the consequences of those actions.  It echoes of civil right protests that we see today in our own world.  What if you go against what expected of you, how do you handle those choices, and what does the future look like when change happens from those choices?

I think this novel should be a must read in all highschools it one of those great one that will open up thoughtful discussion and may have you thinking twice about how you use your words to influence your world.  Looking forward to the next book Access Restricted out August 28th, 2018.