Daughter of the Serpentine(Dragoneer Academy #2)

As a young dragoneer moves through the ranks of the prestigious Serpentine Academy, her challenges grow greater and her time grows short to draw out a series of deadly threats, in this thrilling coming-of-age fantasy novel.

Sixteen-year-old Ileth is now an Apprentice Dragoneer, with all of the benefits and pitfalls that her elevation in rank entails. But her advancement becomes less certain after a she’s attacked by an unknown enemy, and Ileth begins to suspect that someone deadly may be hiding within the walls of the academy.

Outside of the walls there is a different challenge. The Rari Pirates are strangling the Vale Republic. What they lack in dragon firepower, they make up for in the brutality of their ever-expanding raids, making hostages or slaves of the Republic’s citizens. Surrounded by enemies, Ileth will need to learn what kind of dragoneer she wants to be. And as she makes decisions about her future, Ileth will have the chance to uncover the secrets of her past. Both will irrevocably change the course of her life.

Review

This is the sequel to the wonderful Novice Dragonneer and continues to follow the young Illeth journey to become a Dragoneer. Illeth has come a long way from the first novel where she escaped the captain’s lodge (an orphanage basically) to head to the Serpentine to become a Dragoneer. She arrives too late and spends almost two weeks on the doorstep refusing to leave. Now she on her way to becoming an apprentice.

Once she becomes one she needs to provide herself with a sash. She tries so hard to make one and is humiliated time and again when she cannot have the funds to buy the material. She ends up having to get very creative in providing one that is accepted. She ends up in the horse troop which almost to me looks like slave labor but it does make her stronger in her resolve.

She is then basically kidnapped by a governor for a time and then in unusual circumstances amid a very intense battle. The novel shows the grit of our wonderful Illeth. She embodies the idea that if you want something in life you have to work for it, no one is gonna just hand you your dreams. She is an inspiration and I can not wait to read more about her journey to becoming a Dragonneer.

Blog Tour What to Do About Your Monsters by Jessica Woo

WHAT TO DO ABOUT YOUR MONSTERS

Created by Jessica Woo

Publisher’s Synopsis: Meet Kinzie. She has a bunch of fun-loving, slightly smelly, Monsters that live in her room. They never let her sleep at night. But that’s ok, her parents always help her out. Until one day they decide it’s time she learns to sleep on her own. What will Kinzie do about her Monsters?

What To Do About Your Monsters is a heartfelt story about a girl who has sleep issues. At its core, however, the story is not just about having problems sleeping, but about being afraid to try something new.

Ages 0-8 | Publisher: Acorn Publishing | October 2020 | ISBN-13: 978-1-952112-10-2

Review

What To Do About Your Monsters is a delightful children’s picture book that tackles children overcoming their “monsters.” This book has illustrations that leap off the page, engaging children to want to read or listen to the story. All children and adults can relate to having “monsters” in their lives that can be difficult to talk about with others. Those “monsters” tend to come out most when we try to get to sleep at night. This book offers the perfect opportunity for others to share their experiences with “monsters” and having trouble sleeping. It shows that this is an issue that others have, so there is no reason to be ashamed. Books like these can be real saviors to children who feel they are alone in their problems. I highly recommend it.

About The Author

Jessica Woo is an author-illustrator and a mom of two wild things. Her debut children’s book, What To Do About Your Monsters, was inspired by her oldest child. Very quickly after Jessica became a mother, she found that while adults like to sleep, kids are way too busy to ever go to bed.
Other than convincing her little ones to sleep at night, Jessica’s talents include professional animation, art direction, and illustration. In Illustration, Jessica most recently worked on a concept art piece for Universal. In art direction, her recent project, Dinner Party, was accepted in the exclusive Sundance film festival. Finally, in animation, her work is featured in movies such as Kung Fu Panda, Monster vs Aliens, Shrek 4, Kung Fu Panda Holiday Special, Kung Fu Panda 2, The Croods, and Turbo.
An active member of SCBWI and 12 by 12, Jessica currently lives in Toluca Lake California with her family.
PURCHASE LINKS

Amazon: https://amzn.to/308MBM0
Bookshop.org: https://bookshop.org/a/2078/9781952112102

Giveaway

Enter for a chance to win a copy of What to Do About Your Monsters, autographed by Jessica Woo.

Two (2) winners receive:

  • A signed copy of What to Do About Your Monsters

Giveaway begins October 6, 2020, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends November 6, 2020, at 11:59 P.M. MT. See complete giveaway rules here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour hatch by Cassie Hoyt

ABOUT THE BOOK

Hatch!
Written by Cassie Hoyt
Illustrated by Amanda Crawford Brown
Publisher’s Synopsis: Hatch! is a picture book exploring the animals that hatch from eggs. Colorful, captivating pictures paired with singsong rhyming text make this book a perfect fit for curious babies and toddlers.
Ages 2-5 | Publisher: Cassie Hoyt | ISBN-13: 978-1735401102

Review

Hatch! is an adorable children’s book about all the various kinds of animals that hatch from eggs. It provides an excellent opportunity to discuss why this happens, opening up a science setting to kids. It also opens children’s eyes beyond the obvious animals like ducks or chickens. It also explores that eggs are not always white and there are many different kinds of nests animals build to protect and hatch their young.

The illustrations are cute and will appeal to young readers, giving them the ability to go out into the world and maybe spot a nest or two and know who calls it home. Kids will be excited to visit zoos with their newfound information. If I were a teacher, this book would have a place of honor. Any book that can open up doors for discussion about things in our world beyond our kids’ front door is well-made.

About The Author

Cassie Hoyt is a children’s author and perfusionist. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and two sons. She enjoys reading, traveling, and spending time with her family. Inspiration for her books typically comes from her silly boys or fond memories of her childhood. Learn more about Cassie’s upcoming works on www.cassiehoyt.com.

About the Illustrator

Amanda Crawford Brown is an artist in the greater Nashville, TN area. She has been creative her whole life but began working on her art career seriously in 2017. She specializes in watercolor and fluid art mediums but has recently been recreating those mediums in digital format. Creating children’s book art has been a dream of Amanda’s since she was very young! Amanda also makes digital artwork and is a marketing director for a Professional Twitch streamer, has shown her work in galleries and has had award-winning booths at art and craft shows all around Tennessee!

Purchase links

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2ROvF91

Giveaway

Enter for a chance to win the Hatch! prize pack.

One (1) grand prize winner receives:

  • A paperback copy of Hatch, autographed by author Cassie Hoyt
  • A canvas tote printed with artwork from Hatch
  • A $100 Amazon gift card for purchasing books to fill your new tote

Two (2) winners receive:

  • A paperback copy of Hatch, autographed by author Cassie Hoyt

Giveaway begins October 5, 2020, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends November 5, 2020, at 11:59 P.M. MT.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Glamourist(The Vine Witch #2)by Luanne G. Smith

A spellbinding novel of bloodlines, self-discovery, and redemption by the author of the Washington Post bestseller The Vine Witch.

Abandoned as a child in turn-of-the-century Paris, Yvette Lenoir has longed to uncover the secrets of her magical heritage and tap her suppressed powers. But what brave and resourceful Yvette has done to survive the streets has made her a fugitive. With a price on her head, she clings to a memento from her past—what she believes to be a grimoire inherited from the mother she never knew. To unlock the secrets of her past, Yvette trusts in one woman to help solve the arcane riddles among its charmed pages.

Elena Boureanu is the vine witch of Château Renard, noted for its renowned wines. Even as she struggles with her own bloodline—and its poisonous threat to her future—Elena can’t ignore a friend on the run. Joined by a cunning thief, the proprietor of an enchanted-curio shop, and a bewitching black cat, Elena and Yvette are determined to decode Yvette’s mysterious keepsake. But what restless magic will be unleashed? And what are Yvette and Elena willing to risk to become the witches they were destined to be

Review

I like that each book is set up as a series but focuses as well on finding the identity of each witch we encounter. In book one we meet Elena and she comes into her own as a vine witch. Toward the end of that book, we meet Yvette who comes to her rescue. The Glamourist focuses on Yvette who turns out to have a very interesting bloodline and it all tied up in a special book and maybe a Fae character or two. This series is unique and I thoroughly enjoy each and everyone i read.

The Archive of the Forgotten(Hell’s Library #2)by A.J. Hackwith

In the second installment of this richly imagined fantasy adventure series, a new threat from within the Library could destroy those who depend upon it the most.

The Library of the Unwritten in Hell was saved from total devastation, but hundreds of potential books were destroyed. Former librarian Claire and Brevity the muse feel the loss of those stories, and are trying to adjust to their new roles within the Arcane Wing and Library, respectively. But when the remains of those books begin to leak a strange ink, Claire realizes that the Library has kept secrets from Hell–and from its own librarians.

Claire and Brevity are immediately at odds in their approach to the ink, and the potential power that it represents has not gone unnoticed. When a representative from the Muses Corps arrives at the Library to advise Brevity, the angel Rami and the erstwhile Hero hunt for answers in other realms. The true nature of the ink could fundamentally alter the afterlife for good or ill, but it entirely depends on who is left to hold the pen.

Review

This ended up being a solid 3 for me as it dragged so much but i was intrigued to find out what the mysterious ink was and how the librarian and the no longer librarian where going to make things work. Then we got to visit new part of the realm like the forgotten wing where books that have been forgotten due to being the last copy, no longer published or the author has died. Then you have Hero trying to figure out what he is without his book and the mystery inks seeps into Claire arm. So there was a lot to suck me in but just seems like it was mixed into a confuluated narrative but the ending got me enough that I want to know how it all ends. Not as solid or as enjoyable as the first book.

House of Dragons(House of Dragons #1)by Jessica Cluess

Five royal houses will hear the call to compete in the Trial for the dragon throne. A liar, a soldier, a servant, a thief, and a murderer will answer it. Who will win?

When the Emperor dies, the five royal houses of Etrusia attend the Call, where one of their own will be selected to compete for the throne. It is always the oldest child, the one who has been preparing for years to compete in the Trial. But this year is different. This year, these five outcasts will answer the call….

THE LIAR: Emilia must hide her dark magic or be put to death.

THE SOLDIER: Lucian is a warrior who has sworn to never lift a sword again.

THE SERVANT: Vespir is a dragon trainer whose skills alone will keep her in the game.

THE THIEF: Ajax knows that nothing is free–he must take what he wants.

THE MURDERER: Hyperia was born to rule and will stop at nothing to take her throne

Review

First off this was amazing, the author did not hold back any punches on the twists. Things happened and i screamed no way, or holy shit, or no she did not just do that. You got 5 royal houses who have groomed their children to compete in a competition for the throne. Ok nothing new there this a theme we seen. Here were the first of many twists come in first of all their dragons and the great dragon calls the competitors to a summoning circle. Of course everyone expects it to be those they groomed, who is called is not who is to be. Second what makes this different is the traditions that surround this country. When you die if you have a dragon it eats you. Never seen that before. The uniqueness of this story does not stop there but i hate to give it all away. Just know their magic, brutal killing, some romance, and a hard fought battle for the throne. I would very much recommend this one to Game of Throne Fans, Six of Crows fans, and anyone who enjoys multiple points of views stories with dragons, yep dragons and of course dragons. Happy reading.

Blog Tour The Sisters of Straygarden Place by Hayley Chewins

Hardcover: 208 pages
Publisher:
Candlewick (October 13, 2020)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 153621227X
ISBN-13: 978-1536212273



Praise for THE SISTERS OF STRAYGARDEN PLACE

Lyrical and imaginative, rich and riveting. This is Hayley Chewins at her best, writing about magical girls with secrets and sisters who rise above the odds. An absolute must-read! —Christine Day, author of I Can Make This Promise, an American Indian Youth Literature Award Honor Book

Chewins’ prose is exquisite, her eerie concepts heart-wrenching…Superb, spooky, and unforgettable. —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Chewins (The Turnaway Girls) weaves a vivid, otherworldly tale of family and secrets, with a gothic setting that serves as a character in its own right. Through themes of identity, forgiveness, and longing, Mayhap’s unpredictable quest becomes intensely personal, especially as the sisters reinvent their familial relationship. —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A strong opening and consistent sense of urgency makes this an ideal choice for reluctant readers interested in slightly spooky fantasy. Give to fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, Kenneth Oppel’s The Nest, or The House in Poplar Wood by K.E. Ormsbee. —School Library Journal

A riveting middle-grade fantasy about sibling bonds, enchanted houses, and encroaching wildness, lyrically told in eerily beautiful prose

The grass grew taller than the house itself, surrounding it on all sides. It stuffed the keyholes and scraped against the roof. It shook the walls and made paintings shiver.

Seven years ago, the Ballastian sisters’ parents left them in the magical Straygarden Place, a house surrounded by tall silver grass and floating trees. They left behind a warning saying never to leave the house or go into the grass. “Wait for us,” the note read. “Sleep darkly.” Ever since then, the house itself has taken care of Winnow, Mayhap, and Pavonine–feeding them, clothing them, even keeping them company–while the girls have waited and grown up and played a guessing game: Think of an animal, think of a place. Think of a person, think of a face. Until one day, when the eldest, fourteen-year-old Winnow, does the unthinkable and goes outside into the grass, and everything twelve-year-old Mayhap thought she knew about her home, her family, and even herself starts to unravel. With luscious, vivid prose, poet and author Hayley Chewins transports readers to a house where beloved little dogs crawl into their owners’ minds to sleep, sick girls turn silver, and anything can be stolen–even laughter and silence.

Review

This is the best kind of middle grade as it imaginative, includes fun elements and is easily read in one sitting. I enjoy long books that i can get lost in for hours and enjoy for days on end. In the rush of everything some days are just to packed with stuff for that to be possible so it nice that this book i read in just a few hours. It made me smile, laugh, brought up sweet memories of my own sisters. It opens with a magical house, magical grass and some very different animals. At the heart of it is a mystery that is solved in a timely manner. I think even a reluctant reader would be able to pick this up and enjoy it.

You can purchase The Sisters of Straygarden Place at the following Retailers:
        

Ten reasons to read THE SISTERS OF STRAYGARDEN PLACE:

It has really cute magical dogs in it!

There’s lots of pretty wallpaper. 

There are many, many secrets. 

And tense conversations. 

Each room has hundreds of tiny windows. 

And the silver grass outside can open the windows. . .

And slither into the house. 

THE SISTERS OF STRAYGARDEN PLACE is quite short, so you can probably read it in one sitting. 

It’s about sisters, and forgiveness, and fear.

And it’s set in a magical mansion that makes any food you want, dresses you however you want, and cleans up after you–total wish fulfillment!

 

 

Photo Credit: SLDV Portrait

Hayley Chewins is an author and writing coach. She grew up in Cape Town, South Africa, in a house so full of books that she learnt to read by accident. She’s fond of telling people that she writes books about magical girls with secrets—even if that’s not an actual genre. Her books are literary fantasy, surreal fairy tales, or weird magic. (Or: all of the above.)


Her debut,
The Turnaway Girls, was a Kirkus Best Book of 2018 and made the American Library Association’s Amelia Bloomer List of Best Feminist Books for Young Readers. Her second book, The Sisters of Straygarden Place, is forthcoming from Candlewick Press on October 13th, 2020, and has already been called “superb, spooky, and unforgettable” in a recent starred review. Hayley lives in Johannesburg, South Africa, with her soulmate/husband/fellow coffee addict, Liale, and their toy poodle, Darfer.She is represented by Patricia Nelson at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency, otherwise known as The Most Amazing Agent Ever.

        
WEEK ONE
SEPTEMBER 14th MONDAY JeanBookNerd INTERVIEW 
SEPTEMBER 15th TUESDAY BookHounds YA REVIEW & INTERVIEW
SEPTEMBER 16th WEDNESDAY TMBA Corbett Tries to Write EXCERPT
SEPTEMBER 16th WEDNESDAY Bookriot Edah REVIEW
SEPTEMBER17th THURSDAY Emelie’s Books REVIEW
SEPTEMBER17th THURSDAY Gwendalyn’s Books REVIEW 
SEPTEMBER 18th FRIDAY The Bookwyrm’s Den REVIEW 
SEPTEMBER 18th FRIDAY Reading Adventures of a Book Dragon REVIEW 
WEEK TWO
SEPTEMBER 21st MONDAY J Long Books REVIEW
SEPTEMBER 21st MONDAY Rajiv’s Reviews REVIEW
SEPTEMBER 22nd TUESDAY J.R.’s Book Reviews REVIEW 
SEPTEMBER 23rd WEDNESDAY Nay’s Pink Bookshelf REVIEW 
SEPTEMBER 23rd WEDNESDAY Author Kelly Riser REVIEW 
SEPTEMBER 24th THURSDAY Ya It’s Lit REVIEW
SEPTEMBER 25th FRIDAY My Fictional Oasis REVIEW 
SEPTEMBER 25th FRIDAY Books A-Brewin’ EXCERPT

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

The Left-Handed Booksellers of Londonby Garth Nix

A girl’s quest to find her father leads her to an extended family of magical fighting booksellers who police the mythical Old World of England when it intrudes on the modern world. From the bestselling master of teen fantasy, Garth Nix.

In a slightly alternate London in 1983, Susan Arkshaw is looking for her father, a man she has never met. Crime boss Frank Thringley might be able to help her, but Susan doesn’t get time to ask Frank any questions before he is turned to dust by the prick of a silver hatpin in the hands of the outrageously attractive Merlin.

Merlin is a young left-handed bookseller (one of the fighting ones), who with the right-handed booksellers (the intellectual ones), are an extended family of magical beings who police the mythic and legendary Old World when it intrudes on the modern world, in addition to running several bookshops.

Susan’s search for her father begins with her mother’s possibly misremembered or misspelt surnames, a reading room ticket, and a silver cigarette case engraved with something that might be a coat of arms.

Merlin has a quest of his own, to find the Old World entity who used ordinary criminals to kill his mother. As he and his sister, the right-handed bookseller Vivien, tread in the path of a botched or covered-up police investigation from years past, they find this quest strangely overlaps with Susan’s. Who or what was her father? Susan, Merlin, and Vivien must find out, as the Old World erupts dangerously into the New

Review

This novel in short is at its heart a quest for a young lady to find her Farther as a result she discovers who she truly is as his daughter. Being chased by numerous magical creatures in this quest makes for a non stop adventure. Also the interesting intrigue of left handed and right handed booksellers who each have their own strengths in magic which i think is tied into right side of the mind versus left side of the mind.

The addition of a Merlin character always makes for an interesting tale as well. Garth Nix is one of the most creative, stand out authors i have the privileged to read. His variety of magical creatures i never seen show up in other novels which i sure means they have to be plucked from his vastly creative imagination. This novel will not disappoint especially if your a fan of London magical adventures that involve bookshops and magical booksellers.

The Captive Kingdom(The Ascendance Series #4)by Jennifer A. Nielsen

In a peaceful Carthya, Jaron leads as the Ascendant King with Imogen beside him — but the peace he fought so long for is not destined to last.

On a routine sea voyage, Jaron’s ship is brutally attacked, and he is taken hostage. The mysterious captors and their leader, Jane Strick, accuse Jaron of unthinkable acts. They are also in possession of some shocking items — including the crown and sword that belonged to Jaron’s older brother, Darius. The items unearth a past Jaron thought he had put behind him.

Though it seems impossible, Jaron must consider: Could Darius be alive? And what does Strick want from Jaron? Against his will, Jaron will be pulled back into a fight for the throne — and a battle to save his kingdom.

Review

This series a holds a special place in my heart cause it one of the first series my son who now 16 remembers listening to as an audiobook. He was hooked from the first book all the way to the last. We also had the great honor of meeting Jennifer in Kennewick Wa a few years back.

I had to do a whole re read for the series before i read the fourth one as it been awhile since i hung out with sage and refresher was due. This continuation of the story did not disappoint me at all. In fact it made me cry yep tears running down my face. It also enlightens you even more how much Sage lost, uncovers and regains as he steps more into his role as king.

When i reached the end the first thing i did was find out if we truly are getting more story. I instagrammed Jennifer asking if Sage was coming out to cause more mischief as i really need to know what he discovered at the end. Jennifer is a talented author and if your fan of the first three books you really need to pick this one up.

Rebelwing(Rebelwing #1)by Andrea Tang

Business is booming for Prudence Wu.

A black-market-media smuggler and scholarship student at the prestigious New Columbia Preparatory Academy, Pru is lucky to live in the Barricade Coalition where she is free to study, read, watch, and listen to whatever she wants. But between essays and exams, she chooses to spend her breaks sweet-talking border patrol with her best friend, Anabel, in order to sell banned media to the less fortunate citizens of the United Continental Confederacy, Inc.

When a drop-off goes awry, Pru narrowly escapes UCC enforcers to find that her rescuer is, of all things, a sentient cybernetic dragon. On the one hand, Pru is lucky not to be in prison, or worse. On the other, the dragon seems to have imprinted on her permanently, which means she has no choice but to be its pilot.

Drawn into a revolution she has no real interest in leading, Pru, Anabel, and friends Alex and Cat become key players in a brewing conflict with the UCC as the corporate government develops advanced weaponry more terrifying and grotesque than Pru could have ever imagined.

Review

Pru has spent her whole life listening to fairy tale stories about dragons from her very talented story teller mother. One day while out on a book smuggling run she ends up becoming one with a dragon. If that not enough for you to pick up this book to see what happens i not sure how else to entice you. There some love interest with in these pages, some fantastic battling with robotic dragons and the aforementioned book smuggling. It a fanatic story that leave you with a solid ending cause book two is about another set of characters 15 years later. So the big plus side is you can read this one and you be good no major cliff hanger to strangle you. Excited for the next one to see how things have developed.