Nyxia(The Nyxia Triad #1)by Scott Reintgen

What would you be willing to risk for a lifetime of fortune?

Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.

Forever.

Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden—a planet that Babel has kept hidden—where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe.

But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.

Review

This as i think many previous reviewers have said is like the hunger games in space. I totally agree with this. The set up for this prefect a rich corporation promising riches to the lowest citizens if they can survive this competition they will never want for anything else. Their heart ache, allliances, and some romance. I was hooked from the first page and i sure the rest of the series will be good as well. The whole descriptions of the ships they were on and the competitions and even the substance nyxia really kept me engaged in the book.

Buckets Goes on a Winter Adventure

Written by Taryn Crowder

Illustrated by Nidhom

Publisher’s Synopsis: Buckets is a curious French Bulldog, and he’s determined to find out where snow comes from! One wintry day, Buckets runs away from his home in Brooklyn in hopes of finding its origin…but what happens when he gets lost along the way?

Buckets Goes on a Winter Adventure is a story of friendship and determination, and will encourage readers of all ages to explore the mysteries of the world around them.

Ages 4-8 | Mascot Books | October 1, 2019 | ISBN-13: 978-1643073699

https://amzn.to/3jORBxI

https://bookshop.org/a/2078/9781643073699

OFFICIAL LINKS

bucketsthefrenchie.com | Instagram | Facebook

Enter for a chance to win an autographed copy of Buckets Goes On a Winter Adventure and a 16″ plush Buckets toy!

One (1) winner receives:

  • An autographed copy, by both Taryn Crowder and Buckets, of Buckets Goes On A Winter Adventure
  • A 16″ plush Buckets toy

Nine (9) winners will receive:

  • An autographed copy, by both Taryn Crowder and Buckets, of Buckets Goes On A Winter Adventure

Giveaway begins August 3, 2020, at 12:01 A.M. PST and ends September 3, 2020, at 11:59 P.M. PST.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Morning Flower(The Omte Origins #2)by Amanda Hocking

Nestled along the bluffs of the forested coast lays the secret kingdom of the Omte—a realm filled with wonder… and as many secrets.

When Ulla Tulin took her internship at the Mimirin, the only mystery she thought she’d have to solve was that of her birth parents. After a girl named Eliana gets kidnapped while in her care, Ulla knows she has to find out the truth of who Eliana really is—and the only way to do that means traveling to the Omte capital, the place she suspects her mother is from.

Ulla didn’t expect that when she arrived she would discover the identity of a Skojare man who crossed paths with her mother—a man who could very well be her father. When the head of the Mimirin learns Ulla’s father is connected to the Älvolk, a secret society who believes they were tasked with protecting the First City and the only ones who know its location, he sends Ulla and Pan to Sweden where they find him living among the Älvolk. But all is not what it seems with the Älvolk and their urgent quest to find the Lost Bridge to the First City leaves Ulla feeling uneasy—and possibly in danger.

Review

In this second novel we continue to follow Ulla on her hunt to find her parents and along with this a quest to find the quirky Eliana which we met in book one. These kind of stories always hook me cause their a mystery to be solved and usually it involves something way bigger then what we thought.

The world building for this series is phenomenal and i really can see myself as we travel to find the lost city. I hurt for Ulla as she uncovers things about her mom and farther that were complete out left field. We don’t learn much about Eliana or even see her on this part of the adventure.

I really love how this series is playing out but now i sad cause i have to wait tell January 2021 to see how it all ends.

I Choose Brave: Embracing Holy Courage and Understanding Godly Fearby Katie Westenberg

What if fear is the new brave?

That’s the question that you need answered if you are living afraid. Finding courage begins with fear itself–fear of the Lord.

I Choose Brave
reveals a countercultural plan to help you where you are–knee-deep in fears of parenting, the future, your marriage, and a world that feels unstable. When you’re feeling fearful, the last thing you need is a social-media meme telling you to simply “power through” your fears.

In I Choose Brave, Katie Westenberg digs deep into Scripture and shows that finding the courage to overcome our fears must start with fear of the Lord. Hundreds of passages speak to this foundational truth, yet we have somehow relegated them to antiquity. In sharing her own compelling story of facing her worst fear, Katie serves up theological truth with relatable application. In this book, you will
– discover a fresh take on an old truth that displaces fear once and for all
– understand why the culture’s idea of “fearlessness” is a farce
– access the holy courage you were made for

With this new knowledge comes tremendous freedom. Hidden in the cleft of the Rock, the One truly worthy of our fear, you will begin to understand the only path to real courage.

Review

A heartfelt in depth look at the way the world views fear and they way Christians in relation to respecting should have fear.  Katie shares her story of delivery her still born daughter Alison and how it was her brave respect of her father in heaven she was able to come out on the other side still whole.  I never experienced that kind of loss but I have experienced loss of a loved one.  Katie’s does an excellent job of sharing her real life experience and aligning it with how we should be living our life in relation to our relationship with god.  This book will arrive on the book science in the right time when so many of us are clinging to the tighten your pony tail idea when we need to be clinging to god.  Great book.

Raybearer(Raybearer #1) by Jordan Ifueko

Nothing is more important than loyalty.
But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy?

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as The Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince’s Council of 11. If she’s picked, she’ll be joined with the other Council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But The Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: Kill the Crown Prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won’t stand by and become someone’s pawn—but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself? With extraordinary world-building and breathtaking prose, Raybearer is the story of loyalty, fate, and the lengths we’re willing to go for the ones we love

I received this ARC as part of Miss Print’s ARC Adoption Program

Review

This is an amazing story about complex relationships between those you choose as family and those who are your family. Also it about what you been told you are and what you choose to do with that information. Our main character has been tasked with the most horrific thing you can ask of a child revenge. She forgets about the task for part of the book and then it all come rushing back. Her mother the lady has been distant from tarisai her whole life yet she groomed her to take down the prince. I really loved that who i thought she would fall in love with is someone totally different. This was a gut wrenching novel that will leave you dying for the next one.

The Empire of Gold(The Daevabad Trilogy #3)by S.A. Chakraborty

Daevabad has fallen.

After a brutal conquest stripped the city of its magic, Nahid leader Banu Manizheh and her resurrected commander, Dara, must try to repair their fraying alliance and stabilize a fractious, warring people.

But the bloodletting and loss of his beloved Nahri have unleashed the worst demons of Dara’s dark past. To vanquish them, he must face some ugly truths about his history and put himself at the mercy of those he once considered enemies.

Having narrowly escaped their murderous families and Daevabad’s deadly politics, Nahri and Ali, now safe in Cairo, face difficult choices of their own. While Nahri finds peace in the old rhythms and familiar comforts of her human home, she is haunted by the knowledge that the loved ones she left behind and the people who considered her a savior are at the mercy of a new tyrant. Ali, too, cannot help but look back, and is determined to return to rescue his city and the family that remains. Seeking support in his mother’s homeland, he discovers that his connection to the marid goes far deeper than expected and threatens not only his relationship with Nahri, but his very faith.

As peace grows more elusive and old players return, Nahri, Ali, and Dara come to understand that in order to remake the world, they may need to fight those they once loved . . . and take a stand for those they once hurt.

Review

This book will gut you, will reveal secrets, give back heritage and all for a city that many thought should never be saved. I think everyone who reads this will be happy, will have their questions answered and will bawl their eyes out at the end. It hard to review a finale book without giving anything away. So if your a fan of this series pick it up.

Blog Tour South of the Buttonwod tree by Heather Webber

Forge Books
Tor/Forge
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher:
Forge Books (July 21, 2020)
Language: English
On Sale: 07/21/2020
ISBN: 9781250198563



Praise for Heather Webber’s MIDNIGHT AT THE BLACKBIRD CAFE “Full of family secrets, undeniable charm and that particular touch of magic so often found in the South, MIDNIGHT AT THE BLACKBIRD CAFE is a heartfelt and redemptive tale of a daughter looking to move forward in the place her mother couldn’t wait to leave behind. Heather Webber creates a town as dynamic and real as her characters—and a story so compelling that it will stay on readers’ minds long after the final page. I savored every word.” —Kristy Woodson Harvey, national bestselling author of Slightly South of Simple“Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe is an enchanting gem of a novel, brimming with charming characters, heartwarming connections, old secrets, and a southern setting that makes you want to move there. As refreshing as a glass of blackberry tea, this is truly magical realism at its best!” —Karen White, New York Times bestselling author“Family, fate, and magic intertwine in this endearing Southern tale of long-held secrets, homemade pie, and building one’s future from the remains of the past. A tantalizing, delicious delight, through and through. Heather Webber writes with so much detail and imagination that I’ll be craving some Blackbird Cafe pie—and the comfort that comes with it—for a long time to come.” —Kristin Harmel, international bestselling author of The Room on Rue Amélie and The Sweetness of ForgettingBlue Bishop has a knack for finding lost things. While growing up in charming small-town Buttonwood, Alabama, she’s happened across lost wallets, jewelry, pets, her wandering neighbor, and sometimes, trouble. No one is more surprised than Blue, however, when she comes across an abandoned newborn baby in the woods, just south of a very special buttonwood tree.Sarah Grace Landreneau Fulton is at a crossroads. She has always tried so hard to do the right thing, but her own mother would disown her if she ever learned half of Sarah Grace’s secrets.The unexpected discovery of the newborn baby girl will alter Blue’s and Sarah Grace’s lives forever. Both women must fight for what they truly want in life and for who they love. In doing so, they uncover long-held secrets that reveal exactly who they really are–and what they’re willing to sacrifice in the name of family.

Jan’s Review

South of the Buttonwood Tree is a book about assumptions. In this small town if your last name is Bishop then you have bad luck coursing thru your veins your forever cursed. At the heart of the story is a baby found by Blue Bishop and a famous tree that gives advice in the form of wooden buttons. This whole concept of bad luck, an advice giving tree and a found baby are what intrigued me to sign up for this tour. I so glad i did this is the perfect book to escape into and have all the warm fuzzy feelings of a nice home town story. I loved how much depth the characters had and how easily i could see myself in this story. This is a great fast read that i sure you will enjoy if you like magic, family secrets and a remarkable tree that gives just what you need at just the right time.

You can purchase South of the Buttonwood Tree at the following Retailers:
        
Photo Content from Heather Webber 

HEATHER WEBBER is the national bestselling author of more than thirty novels–including Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe, the Lucy Valentine novels, and the Nina Quinn Mysteries–and has been twice nominated for an Agatha Award. She loves to spend time with her family, read, drink too much coffee and tea, birdwatch, crochet, watch cooking competition and home improvement shows, crochet, and bake. Heather lives in southwestern Ohio and is hard at work on her next book.

        
WEEK ONE
JULY 20th MONDAY JeanBookNerd INTERVIEW
JULY 21st TUESDAY Movies, Shows, & Books EXCERPT
JULY 22nd WEDNESDAY TTC Books and More INTERVIEW 
JULY 22nd WEDNESDAY J Long Books REVIEW
JULY 23rd THURSDAY Reading Adventures of a Book Dragon EXCERPT
JULY 23rd THURSDAY Day Leitao INTERVIEW
JULY 24th FRIDAY Nay’s Pink Bookshelf REVIEW

WEEK TWO
JULY 27th MONDAY Ya It’s Lit REVIEW
JULY 28th TUESDAY BookHounds REVIEW & INTERVIEW
JULY 29th WEDNESDAY Two Points of Interest REVIEW
JULY 30th THURSDAY Captivated Reading REVIEW
JULY 30th THURSDAY Gwendalyn’s Books REVIEW 
JULY 31st FRIDAY J.R.’s Book Reviews REVIEW 
JULY 31st FRIDAY My Fictional Oasis REVIEW

*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Brenna Morgan and The Iron Key (Brenna Morgan, #1)by Katie Masters

When sixteen year-old Brenna Morgan arrived in Ireland with her travel-writer mother she had expected the usual—a couple of months in a country that wasn’t her home. What she hadn’t anticipated was making a promise to a dying faerie who saves her life. Armed with only her wits and a strange iron key given to her by the faerie, Brenna is pulled into a world where myth and legend cross all too often into reality, in search for a child hidden away in their world.

Knowing nothing of the faerie realm, she is aided in her search by new found friends Patrick and a reluctant faerie named Roibhilin with a grudge against humans. But the more she uncovers the more she realizes that not all is as it seems, that danger comes in the most unassuming of guises, and that the child she is sworn to protect could destroy not only the faerie world but her own as well.

Jan’s Review

If your looking for an intense action packed tale about the fae then look no forward then Brenna Morgan. This gal is a very strong, determine young lady. Her family has always traveled so she never set down roots anywhere but she hoping things will change once she arrives in Ireland. Boy do things change with one trip out to go for a jog, she comes upon a wounded fae, is entrusted with the key and a task. You meet fantastical creatures, be hunted by some of them and go on an amazing adventure to save a child.

Blog Tour The Monster Twins by Robert and Karen Hanvik

About The Book

The Monster Twins

Written by Robert and Karen Hanvik

Illustrated by Ella Ransom

Publisher’s Synopsis: Bella and Bertie are twins, but they don’t know that, or each other. Separated while babies by bad law, they grew up 6000 miles apart, in Singapore and London. Follow the twins as they discover their shared past and do their best to make a better future for themselves, their families, and others like them.

PURCHASE LINK

https://monstertwins.com/collections/the-monster-twins-book

OFFICIAL LINKS

For more information, visit https://monstertwins.com, Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Jan’s Review

This amazing heartfelt story is about two monsters who are twins, but the sad part is they live more than 6,000 miles apart. Bella lives in Singapore and Bertie lives in London. Due to monster law, the twins were forced to be adopted to learn to be like human babies. The parents who adopted them are both quite different, and the way the twins adapted to being in the human world was quite different. One took it very hard and lashed out, while the other tried to hide in the background but somehow always was thrust into it. I’m sure that had a lot to do with being the only monster in their schools.

As it happens with twins, they are different but also very alike, and those two loved to climb. This climbing is what leads to them discovering each other. With the photos taken from the twins climbing public sites, their birth parents were able to help change monster law.

It is huge knowing you have a friend out there in this scary world, so even if you have not found your friend yet keeping looking, you’ll see where you belong.

Enter for a chance to win a copy of The Monster Twins and a Visa gift card!

One (1) grand prize winner receives:

  • A physical copy of The Monster Twins

  • A digital flipbook copy of The Monster Twins
  • A $25 Visa gift card to stock up on more books from your favorite bookstore

Five (5) winners receive:

  • A choice of:
    • A physical copy of The Monster Twins

    • A digital flipbook copy of The Monster Twins

Giveaway begins July 20, 2020, at 12:01 A.M. MT and ends August 20, 2020, at 11:59 P.M. MT.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Curio by Evangeline Denmark

Grey Haward has always detested the Chemists, the magicians-come-scientists who rule her small western town. But she has always followed the rules, taking the potion the Chemists ration out that helps the town’s people survive. A potion that Grey suspects she—like her grandfather and father—may not actually need.

By working at her grandfather’s repair shop, sorting the small gears and dusting the curio cabinet inside, Grey has tried to stay unnoticed—or as unnoticed as a tall, strong girl can in a town of diminutive, underdeveloped citizens. Then her best friend, Whit, is caught by the Chemists’ enforcers after trying to protect Grey one night, and after seeing the extent of his punishment, suddenly taking risks seems the only decision she can make.

But with the risk comes the reality that the Chemists know her family’s secret, and the Chemists soon decide to use her for their own purposes. Panicked, Grey retreats to the only safe place she knows—her grandfather’s shop. There, however, a larger secret confronts her when her touch unlocks the old curio cabinet in the corner and reveals a world where porcelain and clockwork people are real. There, she could find the key that may save Whit’s life and also end the Chemists’ dark rule forever.

Jan’s Review

Curio is an amazing steampunk novel about two different worlds. Curio city is hidden inside a curio cabinet and is inhabited by characters who are either porcelain or clock work in nature. Mercury city, based in a Colorado like you never seen before ruled by chemists, strict rules and a line of people who are thought to be gone forever called defenders. This novel is great but i feel like with the way it ended their could of been way more story told. The romance is spot on and the imagination that leaps from the pages of this world blew my mind. I so glad I picked up this title from my backlist and I hope your intrigued to pick it up to.